South Dakota Bandmasters Timeline

Compiled by Arlen Hofer

1924: The first solo and ensemble contests were held at Eastern Normal School, Madison, and at the University of South Dakota in Vermillion. The contests did not include band or wind instruments.

1925: District Music Contests (Band included) held at Brookings, Aberdeen, Madison, Spearfish, and Springfield. Winners eligible to compete in state music contest at USD in Vermillion.

1926: The South Dakota School Band Association was organized at the 1926 SDEA Convention. Arthur R. Thompson, Madison, was elected President; Grant Lyon, Canton, Vice-President; and J. C. Thompson, Mobridge, secretary-treasurer. I could not find any other information or dates of later meetings of this organization.

1927: The National Band Contest Movement (you must win your state contest before entering National Band Contest) I’m sure there are more bands than I have found and listed. 1927: Vermillion Band enters National Band Contests in Council Bluffs, IA.

1928: Vermillion Band enters National Band Contest in Joliet, IL

1929: Canton Band enters National Band Contest in Denver, CO

1936: Canton and Sioux Falls Washington Bands enter National Contest in Cleveland, OH

1934-35: The South Dakota High School Music Association (SDHSMA) was formed to take over the music contests.

1938: Thirteen central South Dakota band directors met in Huron in March to form the Central South Dakota Bandmasters Association (CSDBA). Harold Grant was elected President.

1938: In Nov. of 1938, the South Dakota Association of Band and Orchestra Directors (SDABOD) was formed at the 56th annual SDEA convention in Mitchell with Harold Grant being elected President.

1939: The first annual SDSU band clinic in Brookings is held with 53 band directors in attendance. The SDSU band clinic has continued annually except during World War II.

1940: The SDABOD convention is held in conjunction with the 2nd SDSU band clinic in Brookings.

1940: The SDABOD becomes the SDBA around this time. The SDBA convention and the SDSU band clinic have been held together since 1940.

1941: The first issue of the South Dakota Band and Orchestra Director is published. I cannot find any issues after Vol. 1 #2. It probably ceased during World War II.

1941-1947: The SDBA becomes inconstant during World War II and is reactivated in 1947.

1948: The first South Dakota Grade Instrumental Music Contest Co-Chaired and organized by Willard Fejfar, Vermillion HS Band Director and Ralph T. Fulghum, USD Band Director. 325 musicians competed in the contest from 32 schools.

1949: Because of the size and popularity of the contest, the SDBA takes over organization and sponsorship of the Grade Instrumental Music Contest. Contests are held at two cities, Redfield and Madison. The contest continues to grow and is expanded to other cities.

1951: The SDBA organizes and sponsors the First Annual South Dakota All-State Band held in Sioux Falls at Washington High School.

1956: The first issue of the South Dakota Bandmasters Journal is published. The journal is published until 1966.

1957: Plaques and Life memberships were awarded to Hans Christensen and Charles McClung at the annual SDBA business meeting.

1961: Carl “Christy” Christensen was named Honorary Life President of the SDBA at the annual SDBA business meeting.

1962: The SDBA and the SDHSIAA (South Dakota High School Interscholastic Activities Association) become Co-Sponsors of the Annual South Dakota All-State Band.

1965-66: The SDHSIAA becomes the SDHSAA (South Dakota High School Activities Association). 1966: The South Dakota Bandmasters Journal and the South Dakota Music Educator merge to become the South Dakota Musician.

1985: Plaques and Life Membership as “All State Band Judge Emeritus” were awarded to Harvey Moen; Ray DeVilbiss; and Ben Henry; at the All-State Band Concert in Sioux Falls.

1989: The first annual South Dakota All-State Jazz Band Festival sponsored by the SDBA is held on the campus of USD.

1992: SDBA inducts Doug Carpenter; Carl “Christy” Christensen, Ray DeVilbiss; William “Bill” Ireland; Harvey Moen; and Glenn Siverson; into South Dakota Bandmasters first Hall of Fame. Plaques to be displayed at the National Music Museum in Vermillion.

1997: The first annual SDBA Scholarships to an Instrumental Music Education Major are given at the Intercollegiate Band Concert at All-State Band in Rapid City.

2009: SDMEA notifies SDSU that they will move their convention to the Fall and not participate in the 2010 and future South Dakota Music In-Service Clinics held annually in February.

2010: SDBA adopts Articles of Incorporation and revised By Laws at the Feb. 12, 2010 meeting.

2013: The SDHSAA takes over as sole sponsor of the South Dakota All-State Band.

2020: The South Dakota Bandmasters Hall of Fame is moved to the Performing Arts Center on the campus of SDSU.